Cinematography | DMA Entry 2020

Within Demon Media we have an annual awards show, the Demon Media Awards (DMAs). As being my final year at university and a member of Demon Media I took the chance to display what I have learnt over the past three years.

I’ve branched out into filming a wider range of projects and have learnt how to showcase a variety of products and events in the best way possible. Alongside beginning to work on how making my filming even more interesting and put my own style on things.

Being able to have fun while filming is one of the most important things for me and one of my highlights has to be the Halloween hunt with DemonFM as it was so diverse and I had to act quickly in order to capture everything Rudy was doing. 

I’ve also enjoyed improving my event footage, the welcome weekend and Movember charity darts event being key examples. I was able to get really creative with the ways I showcased the range of activities at welcome weekend so freshers could see what they could catch on the second day. I often use a Canon 5D MIII however this isn’t always the most appropriate camera so I took the darts event as an opportunity to experiment with another brand, due to its low lighting. I chose the Sony a7SIII which was a great choice, I was able to boost the ISO without making my footage grainy and loved having a new challenge to fulfil. 

Not only have I been experimenting with cameras but also lenses. I love using the 50mm and know that a kit lens is very versatile. When given the opportunity I found an 85mm or 35mm can get a much crisper image and are definitely lenses I will be using again.

Leave a comment